The following individuals were the founders of SFPA (formerly known as SFALA) in 1972 and comprised the original Board of Directors. Carla Berg Nelson was the catalyst for the formation of the organization. She initiated the first meetings of paralegals in San Francisco and was a driving force to formally organize the paralegals into a professional association.



Name Positions
Carla Berg NelsonFounding President 1972-1976
Nancy SiegelSecretary 1972-1976
SFALA President 1977
NFPA President 1978-1979
Sandra VoglerVice President 1972-1976
Mary Lou PetersonAssistant Secretary, Treasurer 1972-1975
President 1981
Terry ClarkTreasurer 1972-1976
Fran NewmanBoard Member 1972-1975
Asst Treasurer 1976-1978
Asst Secretary 1978-1980
Chair, Survey Comm. 1987-1993


San Francisco Paralegal Association • 1 Sansome St., Ste. 3500 • San Francisco, CA 94104-4448 • (415) 946-8935 •